## Harrison County Conservation Board Monthly Meeting Minutes Monday, September 9, 2024 Welcome Center

The Harrison County Conservation Board (HCCB) held its regular September meeting on Monday, September 9, 2024, at the Welcome Center. President Nate Epperson called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. Those members present were Ben McIntosh, Kris Pauley, Kimberly Nunez, and Danelle Myer. Also present were Naturalist Connie Betts, Deputy Director Thad Pothast, Rebecca Wilkerson, and Director Scott Nelson.

A motion to approve the Consent Agenda, Minutes, and Bills, with the addition of "Approval of Special Meeting Minutes, was made by McIntosh, seconded by Myer. Motion carried.

A motion to approve the Special Meeting Minutes from August 29, 2024, was made by Myer, seconded by Nunez. Motion carried.

In Public Comments, Wilkerson congratulated Mr. Pothast on his advancement in the department.

Nelson gave the following updates:

- The Doidge Property has officially been transferred from the Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation (INHF) to the HCCB!
- The HCCB has been verbally awarded \$24,500 for the Doidge Wildlife Area from the Joe Gunderson Fund, a request made through the Loess Hills Missouri River Region (LHMMR). These funds will be utilized for improvements and/or future acquisitions.
- Staff have been conducting summer prescribed fire at Willow Lake, Sawmill Hollow, and the Welcome Center. Future burns are planned for Murray Hill.
- Staff attended the District 4 meeting in Clarke CCB.
- Meco-Henne has been conducting some warranty work for the Willow Lake Nature Center.
- Nelson attended ISAC last month.
- The Sawmill Hollow CRP has been extended for an additional 10 years.
- Upcoming Events: Fall Conference and CCPOA (Ranger Training).

Thad Pothast was officially recognized as the new Deputy Director of the HCCB. He will remain in that capacity and work with Nelson through the end of December. He will become Executive Director on January 1, 2025. The Board reviewed his salary and benefit package that includes his salary of \$72,000/year that will take effect on 1/1/2025. A motion to approve Thad Pothast as the new Executive Director and Benefit Package was by Pauley, seconded by McIntosh. Motion carried unanimously.

The Board reviewed the tabulation of the bids submitted for the HCCB's Maintenance Shop project. The project could be bid on either for Phase 1 (demo, grading, roadways), Phase 2 (60x100x16 building) or combo of each. A total of seven (7) bids were received for phase 1, one (1) for phase 2, and four (4) for the combination. All the contractors given a tour of the site and an explanation of the project. After discussion, a motion to approve the bid from Armodus LLC from Mondamin for the turnkey cost of \$467,000 was made by McIntosh, seconded by Pauley. Motion carried.

Nelson presented Resolution 2024-4, a grant written by Betts to the Harrison County Community Foundation (HCCF) requesting funding to partner on a mobile, interactive kiosk for the MOTUS system. This will give users to the Nature Center access to the GPS tracking system already in place. A motion to approve Resolution 2024-4 was made by McIntosh, seconded by Nunez. motion carried.

Nelson presented Resolution 2024-5, a grant being written by Pothast to the Dean J King Family Foundation requesting funding to partner in the Murray Hill Erosion Matting Project to help with the footpath erosion. A motion to approve Resolution 2024-5 was made by Myer, seconded by Nunez. Motion carried.

The Fall Conference hosted by Iowa's County Conservation System (ICCS) will be held September 17-19 in Decorah. All hotel rooms have been secured along with registrations for those attending. Nelson will send out details.

Betts reviewed the Conservation Education department report with the Board. Nelson reviewed the Welcome Center report.

In Other/Future Business: the next meeting will be on MONDAY, September 30<sup>th</sup> at the Willow Lake Nature Center due to scheduling conflicts.

With no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:15 pm was made by Pauley.

Nate Epperson, President

Kris Pauley, Vice-President

Danelle Myer, Secretary